Messy Mama Makes

Messy Mama creations and patterns

A forest of biscuits and a riot of snowdrops

It’s cold out there and I just want to hibernate! These look good enough reasons to hibernate…

A Forest of Biscuits

SONY DSC

These are simple 3-2-1 biscuits, or sugar cookies.

300g plain (all-purpose) flour,
200g butter,
100g sugar,
Flavourings: I used lemon curd, and chopped glace ginger for these, although previously I’ve subbed in cocoa powder in place of a quarter of the flour, and added a dollop of chocolate spread.
Blitz the flour (and cocoa) and butter together, stir in the sugar and flavourings. Knead into a dough, wrap in clingfilm and refrigerate for half an hour or so.
Roll the dough out to about 7mm (ohh so accurate!! hah), cut into shapes, add sprinkles, bake on a greased or lined tray for 8-10 minutes at 180C. Cool on the tray for 5 minutes and then transfer to a cooling rack.

You know how there’s always a little piece of dough left over after cutting out all your shapes, that isn’t big enough for one last biscuit? It’s a good job really – these were made as a thank-you gift, and I had to make sure they were alright somehow…!

A Riot of Snowdrops

SONY DSC

This shawl is using King Cole Riot dk “Spark”, a 4.5mm hook, and the Snowdrop Shawl pattern. Another gift! I wish I could be working on this or my other big shawl project but alas I really ought to stop procrastinating and get packing for the weekend – yes, another weekend clearing out the attic in our old house! I shall be taking wool and camera with me and may have to force myself not to go back into the attic once the children are in bed, and instead curl up with my wool and my husband 😉

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 12, 2014 by in clothing, life, messymamamakes, scarf, shawl, themessymama, winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
