Messy Mama Makes

Messy Mama creations and patterns

Clothesline Crochet Baskets

This is the first time I’ve tried crocheting over something other than a tail of yarn that I don’t want to have to weave in at the end! I’ve seen clothesline crochet baskets online before, and I’ve seen lightrope crochet rugs (another thing to try one day) before, but I’m not sure what prompted me to actually try. But I did.

The first one – well, let’s just say it was a pretty enough experiment!

blues basket.jpg

The second one, better – I used chunkier yarn.

purples basket.jpg

The third, I fell in love. I’d found the right yarn.

colours basket.jpg

And then ran out of clothesline as I finished that one!! So, off to the shops. My usual supplier of clothesline and pegs (no, I don’t buy it that often – the last time I bought some, it was so I could use some for a temporary clothesline when camping!) was currently not stocking it so we had to go all over before finally finding some more nylon clothesline. Success.

Yesterday I made a couple more – although it seems 200g of chunky yarn will only make 3 baskets – and discovered in the process that this clothesline, unlike its precursor, has steel running through the middle. My poor scissors. Even wire snips struggled – and my thumb wasn’t happy at my attempt to try to bend the (finally) cut end back into shape. Ouch.

colours baskets2.jpg colours baskets1.jpg

But the baskets are so pretty. And now I think I’ve perfected my preferred pattern, tomorrow I may have to go and buy more of this specific yarn, if Aldi have any left! I’ll write up the pattern that I use when I get a moment and add it on here 🙂

PATTERN!

200g chunky yarn and 25m clothesline (get nylon clothesline – you’ll need wire snips and duck tape if you get clothesline with steel running through the middle) makes 3 baskets.
I used a 6.5mm hook for this.

Chain 9 into a magic circle, draw up and sl st to join.
Row 1: 2sc into first 8 sc. sc into 9th sc, and sc into wall of first sc on this round (total 18sc) – you will now be working in a spiral rather than joining each round.
Row 2: *2sc, sc* and repeat 8 more times. Insert a stitch marker under first pair of sc. Tuck the end of the clothesline into the first pair of sc and then keep working over the clothesline, as you would work over a tail you don’t want to have to weave in at the end.
Row 3: *2sc, sc, sc* and repeat 8 more times.
Row 4: *2sc, sc, sc, sc* and repeat 8 more times.
Row 5: *2sc, sc, sc, sc, sc* and repeat 8 more times.
Row 6: 2sc in first st, then sc in each st all around. (Vertical side round)
Move stitch marker to underneath first pair of sc in round 4.
Row 7: *2sc in first st, then sc in next 10 st* repeat FIVE more times, then move stitch marker to underneath last stitch. (First sloping side round)
Row 8: *2sc in first st, then sc in next 11 st* repeat five more times, then move stitch marker to underneath last stitch.
Row 9: *2sc in first st, then sc in next 12st* repeat five more times, then move stitch marker to underneath last stitch.
Row 10: *2sc in first st, then sc in next 13st* repeat five more times, then move stitch marker to underneath last stitch.
Row 11: *2sc in first st, then sc in next 14st* repeat five more times, then move stitch marker to underneath last stitch.
Row 12: *2sc in first st, then sc in next 15st* repeat five more times, then move stitch marker to underneath last stitch. (In this round you could insert handles: 10sc over clothesline only – not into stitches below – and skip 7 stitches before re-joining. Counts as 7st when counting for the round. Make a second handle roughly opposite in the same way.)
Cut clothesline.
Row 13: 2sc in first stitch, covering end of clothesline. Sc in each st around. Break yarn, fasten off and weave in ends.

I’ve written this up from memory so I can check it later – if you try it please let me know if it’s understandable!

One comment on “Clothesline Crochet Baskets

  1. katelikestocreate
    November 17, 2014

    I haven’t come across this technique before. I’m tempted to give it a try!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 13, 2014 by in baskets, crochet, messymamamakes and tagged , , , .
